Logos of Philo – Divine Reason – Jesus

John 14:1-7

I Am the Way, and the Truth, and the Life

14 “Let not your hearts be troubled. Believe in God;[a] believe also in me. In my Father’s house are many rooms. If it were not so, would I have told you that I go to prepare a place for you?[b] And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and will take you to myself, that where I am you may be also. And you know the way to where I am going.”[c] Thomas said to him, “Lord, we do not know where you are going. How can we know the way?” Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me. If you had known me, you would have known my Father also.[d] From now on you do know him and have seen him.”

Me (from “No one comes to the Father except through me” above) = Logos of Philo – Divine Reason = Jesus

The Way = Logos of Philo – Divine Reason = Jesus

Jesus is he Word of God

Jesus is the Divine Reason of God

Jesus is the Way

in this context…

John 1:1-5

The Word Became Flesh

In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. He was in the beginning with God. All things were made through him, and without him was not any thing made that was made. In him was life,[a] and the life was the light of men. The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it.

Me = word of God.

  1. In the beginning the Word already existed.
  2. In the beginning the Word was God
  3. In the beginning the Word was with God
  4. Everything in the world exists through God.  Not one thing exists without God.
  5. God is the source of life.
  6. Life is the light for humanity.

Following from:   http://biblehub.com/commentaries/john/1-1.htm

1. There is no doubt that by the λόγος Logos is meant Jesus Christ.

The Logos of Philo is pre-eminently the Divine Reason.

The Logos of S. John, therefore, is not a mere attribute of God, but the Son of God (Jesus), existing from all eternity, and manifested in space and time in the Person of Jesus Christ. In the Logos had been hidden from eternity all that God had to say to man; for the Logos was the living expression of the nature, purposes, and Will of God.

In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.

THE WORD IN ETERNITY, IN THE WORLD, AND IN THE FLESH

God the Father, Spirit, Son

The second clause of John 1:1 asserts the eternal communion of the Word with God. The preposition employed means accurately ‘towards,’ and expresses the thought that in the Word there was motion or tendency towards, and not merely association with, God. It points to reciprocal, conscious communion, and the active going out of love in the direction of God. The last clause asserts the community of essence, which is not inconsistent with distinction of persons, and makes the communion of active Love possible; for none could, in the depths of eternity, dwell with and perfectly love and be loved by God, except one who Himself was God.

Observe the three steps marked in three consecutive verses. ‘All things were made by Him’; literally ‘became,’ where the emergence into existence of created things is strongly contrasted with the divine ‘was’ of John 1:1. ‘Through Him’ declares that the Word is the agent of creation; ‘without Him’ {literally, ‘apart from Him’} declares that created things continue in existence because He communicates it to them. Man is the highest of these ‘all things,’ and John 1:4 sets forth the relation of the Word to Him, declaring that ‘life,’ in all the width and height of its possible meanings, inheres in Him, and is communicated by Him, with its distinguishing accompaniment, in human nature, of light, whether of reason or of conscience.

Compare the Saviour’s own declarations respecting himself in the following places:

John 8:58; “Very truly I tell you,” Jesus answered, “before Abraham was born, I am!”

John 17:5;  And now, Father, glorify me in your presence with the glory I had with you before the world began.

John 6:62; Then what if you see the Son of Man ascend to where he was before!

John 3:13; No one has ever gone into heaven except the one who came from heaven–the Son of Man.

John 6:46; No one has seen the Father except the one who is from God; only he has seen the Father.

John 8:14; Jesus answered, “Even if I testify on my own behalf, my testimony is valid, for I know where I came from and where I am going. But you have no idea where I come from or where I am going.

John 16:28. I came from the Father and entered the world; now I am leaving the world and going back to the Father.”

Leave a Reply

