Christian hedonism

Christian hedonism is a Christian doctrine.  Piper summarizes this philosophy of the Christian life as:

“God is most glorified in us when we are most satisfied in Him.”

I should EXPECT the greatest happiness in my life if I am pursuing the highest good.   God being most glorified and my greatest happiness go hand in hand.

God is glorified most not merely by being known, nor by merely being dutifully obeyed, but by being enjoyed in the knowing and the obeying

God is not looking for my behaviour to be in compliance with a book.   God wants me to experience an ongoing (sanctification) change in my my heart.  God, the bible, Jesus and the holy spirit are going after my heart.  A changing heart.  To be conformed to the image of Christ himself.

You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your might.
Romans 12:2

Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.
For those whom he foreknew he also predestined to be conformed to the image of his Son, in order that he might be the first born among many brothers.
Piper states in Desiring God that “By Christian Hedonism, we do not mean that our happiness is the highest good. We mean that pursuing the highest good will always result in our greatest happiness in the end. We should pursue this happiness, and pursue it with all our might. The desire to be happy is a proper motive for every good deed, and if you abandon the pursuit of your own joy, you cannot love man or please God.”

Ask myself the question…  If I am not happy, am I pursuing the right or wrong thing?  Is my expectation (world vision) seen through the lens of Jesus or my own lens?   Are my expectations in line with what the bible tells me is truth?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Christian_hedonism

Christian hedonism wiki 160317.pdf

 

Leave a comment